Community Council

Community councils are elected every fouryears to find out, co-ordinate and express the views of local people to the council and other public organisations working in the area.

Community Councils are one of the principle mechanisms of public participation in Scottish Local Government.  They exist to give local people a voice in the decisions taken by local authorities and other public bodies.

Community Councils were established by the Local Government (Scotland) Act 1973 – the same Act which created the then two tier system of District and Regional Councils in mainland Scotland.  Community Councils were given a general power to represent local people and take action on their behalf, and they have retained that role under what are now unitary local authorities across Scotland.

Information Booklet on Community Councils

Community Council Rules and Regs

Community Councillors 2018
David Hamilton (Chair), John Vaughan (Treasurer), Karin Vaughan (Secretary), Juliet Gordon, Willie Fenton, Cara Kitching and Kay Stuart